Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Fans vote for Forest Team of the Decade

31 December 2019

Nottingham Forest supporters have had their say and have voted for their favourite players in the Team of the Decade.

The Reds have had many players don the Garibaldi since 2010, but fans have voted for their favourite 11 following a poll on social media.

Check out the line-up below:

TOTD Goalkeepr Twitter.jpg

Goalkeeper - Brice Samba

A newcomer to Nottingham Forest this season, Brice Samba has quickly emerged as a top goalkeeper for The Reds, evidenced by his 10 clean sheets so far this season.

Samba secured 40.4% of the vote, ahead of Lee Camp, Dorus De Vries and Karl Darlow.

TOTD Defenders Twitter.jpg

Right back - Chris Gunter

Welsh full back Chris Gunter was a consistent performer for Forest, making 155 appearances in his three seasons at The City Ground. He featured in two play-off campaigns and was named in the 2010 PFA Championship Team of the Year.

Gunter secured a majority of the vote with 48.6%, beating Eric Lichaj, Matty Cash and James Perch to the right-back berth.

Centre back - Wes Morgan

Boyhood Forest fan Wes Morgan made over 400 appearances for the club before departing in 2012, feauturing in the play-off semi-finals in both 2010 and 2011. A true fans favourite, with his late leveller against Notts County at The City Ground an iconic moment of the past decade, Morgan picked up a whopping 68.8% of the vote. 

Centre back - Jamaal Lascelles

Another academy graduate, Jamaal Lascelles emerged as a stand-out centre back for The Reds before departing for Newcastle United. He made 66 appearances in the Garibaldi from 2011 to 2015, winning 14.9% of the fan vote ahead of Joe Worrall and Kelvin Wilson.

Left back - Ryan Bertrand

Although only at the club for a short time, Ryan Bertrand impressed in a loan spell in the 2010-11 season and helped guide The Reds to the play-offs.

Bertrand pipped Nicky Shorey, Danny Fox and Jack Robinson to a spot in the team with 38.5% of the vote.

TOTD Midfield.jpg

Right midfield - Michail Antonio

One of the signings of the decade, Michail Antonio joined Forest from Sheffield Wednesday and had a remarkable 2014-15 season, scoring 15 times in all competitions before departing the following campaign.

Antonio secured his place in the team with a mammoth 86.2% of the vote, beating Garath McCleary, Paul Anderson and Jamie Paterson.

Centre midfield - Chris Cohen

A certain starter in this side, Chris Cohen has been an integral part of the club since joining in 2007 and going on to coach the Under 23s. Cohen made over 300 appearances for Forest, including scoring the crucial second goal as The Reds beat the drop against Ipswich in 2016-17. 

Centre midfield - Lewis McGugan

A supremely talented footballer, Lewis McGugan came straight out of the club's academy to shine in the first team, scoring spectacular goals and providing assists for teammates. McGugan joins Cohen in the centre of midfield, beating Henri Lansbury and Guy Moussi in the fan vote.

Left midfield - Andy Reid

A club legend with a wand of a left foot, Andy Reid returned for a second spell with the club in 2011 and cemented his place in the hearts of the fans, especially with an impressive 10-goal haul in 2013-14.

Reid pipped Joe Lolley, Radi Majewski and Ben Osborn to a spot in the team with 67.9% of the vote.

TOTD Strikers.jpg

Striker - Robert Earnshaw

One of the club's most prolific strikers in the past decade, Robert Earnshaw crossed the A52 to sign for The Reds and booked his place in the team with a fine goalscoring record and key goals, particularly against Derby County.

Striker - Britt Assombalonga

Another natural goalscorer, Britt Assombalonga joined The Reds for a then club-record deal in 2014 from Peterborough and also developed a habit of scoring against Derby. Despite having to overcome a serious injury, Assombalonga hit 30 goals in 69 appearances, with this front two beating Lewis Grabban and Dexter Blackstock to a place in the team.

Advertisement block