Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Carabao Cup second-round draw

9 August 2017

Nottingham Forest will take their place in Thursday night's Carabao Cup second-round draw after last night's 2-1 win over Shrewsbury Town at The City Ground.

The second-round draw will take place live on Sky Sports News on Thursday evening following the televised first-round tie between Bury and Sunderland.

The 13 Premier League clubs not competing in UEFA competitions will enter the competition in the second round, along with Hull City and Middlesbrough from the Sky Bet Championship.

In the event that West Ham United are drawn at home in the second round of the Carabao Cup then they will be given special dispensation by the EFL Board to play the fixture at the opposition's venue due to a previously agreed arrangement that the London Stadium was to stage the 2017 IAAF World Championships in August.

If the draw dictates this is required, then the EFL Board will determine a level of compensation to be paid by West Ham United to the opposing club. No further 2017-18 Carabao Cup ties will be affected in the event West Ham United progress in the competition and are drawn at home.

An EFL spokesman said: "The Board of the EFL has carefully considered a request from West Ham United and, given the circumstances they faced when relocating to their new stadium, felt it was wholly appropriate to agree to a fixture reversal."

North Seeds

1. Aston Villa
2. Burnley
3. Derby County / Grimsby Town
4. Huddersfield Town
5. Hull City
6. Leeds United
7. Leicester City
8. Middlesbrough
9. Newcastle United
10. Sheffield Wednesday
11. Stoke City
12. West Bromwich Albion
13. Sunderland/Barnsley*

North Non-Seeds

14. Bury/Barnsley*
15. Accrington Stanley
16. Blackburn Rovers
17. Bolton Wanderers
18. Carlisle United
19. Doncaster Rovers
20. Newport County
21. Nottingham Forest
22. Rochdale
23. Rotherham United
24. Scunthorpe United
25. Sheffield United
26. Wigan Athletic

*In the event Sunderland overcome Bury this evening at the Energy Check Stadium at Gigg Lane, Barnsley will drop into the unseeded pot. If there is a home win then Barnsley will be seeded at ball number 13 in the Northern draw and Bury will be ball 14.

In addition, the winners of the outstanding fixture between Grimsby Town and Derby County (rearranged to be played on August 22) will be ball 3 in the North seeded pot. This is because Derby County would have been a seeded team if they had won Tuesday's night's abandoned game based on last season's final league position.

Meanwhile, the EFL have today confirmed that the Round Three draw, in conjunction with cup sponsors Carabao, will take place in Beijing, China on Thursday 24 August. Full details to be announced in due course.

Advertisement block