Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Unbeaten Record

Between 26 November 1977 and 9 December 1978, Nottingham Forest set a new record of 42 consecutive league matches without defeat.
Beginning with a 0-0 draw at The City Ground against West Bromwich Albion on 26 November 1977, Forest went on an astonishing unbeaten run which was only ended by a 2-0 defeat at Anfield against Liverpool on 9 December 1978.
The Reds' sequence of results helped them to become league champions in the 1977-78 season as they clinched the title with four matches to spare. At the home game against Birmingham they were presented with the Championship trophy for the first time in their 114-year history in front of 37,625 supporters at The City Ground. 
Forest's 42-game unbeaten run was completed over two seasons with 26 of the matches taking place in the 1977-78 title-winning season and 16 in the following campaign.
One of the highlights of the run was the 4-0 victory over Manchester United at Old Trafford. United were languishing in the bottom half of the table at the time and Forest deservedly ran out comfortable winners. Tony Woodcock produced a superb performance, scoring two, while John Robertson also got on the scoresheet with the fourth coming from an own goal by Greenhoff. 
The unbeaten record would go on to stand for 26 years before Arsenal's 3-0 victory over Blackburn Rovers saw them become the new holders.
The Gunners' 5-3 victory over Middlesbrough on 21 August 2004 brought them level with Brian Clough's double European Cup-winning team and in their match against Blackburn four days later they beat the record with a convincing 3-0 victory. 

Forest won 21 and drew 21 of their 42 games in the run compared to Arsenal's 30 wins and 12 draws. Arsenal are also ahead in goals scored, a massive 92 to Forest's 58. However, Forest were tighter at the back, conceding just 22 goals compared to Arsenal's 31. 

The players involved in the run are amongst the great names of Nottingham Forest's football history (in alphabetical order): 

Anderson, Barrett, Birtles, Bowyer, Burns, Clarke, Elliott, Gemmill, Lloyd, McGovern, Mills, Needham, O'Hare, O'Neill, Robertson, Shilton, Withe, Woodcock 

Although not playing in the league Forest's 17-year old keeper Chris Woods played an important part in Forest's League Cup run. At 18 he became the youngest goalkeeper to play in a Wembley final. And he won his medal in the replay at Old Trafford when Forest lifted the League Cup. 

Nottingham Forest's 42-game unbeaten run:
1. West Bromwich Albion (H) 0-0
2. Birmingham City (A) - 2-0
3. Coventry City (H) 2-1
4. Manchester United (A) 4-0 
5. Liverpool (H) 1-1
6. Newcastle United (A) 2-0
7. Bristol City (A) 3-1
8. Everton (H) 1-1
9. Derby County (A) 0-0
10. Arsenal (H) 2-0 
11. Wolverhampton Wanderers (H) 2-0
12. Norwich City (A) 3-3
13. West Ham United (H) 2-0
14. Leicester City (H) 1-0
15. Newcastle United (H) 2-0
16. Middlesbrough (A) 2-2
17. Chelsea (H) 3-1
18. Aston Villa (A) 1-0 
19. Manchester City (A) 0-0
20. Leeds United (H) 1-1 
21. Queens Park Rangers (H) 1-0
22. Coventry City (A) 0-0
23. Ipswich Town (A) 2-0 
24. Birmingham City (H) 0-0
25. West Bromwich Albion (A) 2-2 
26. Liverpool (A) 0-0
27. Tottenham Hotspur (H) 1-1
28. Coventry City (A) 0-0  
29. Queens Park Rangers (A) 0-0
30. West Bromwich Albion (H) 0-0 
31. Arsenal (H) 2-1
32. Manchester United (A) 1-1 
33. Middlesbrough (H) 2-2
34. Aston Villa (A) 2-1
35. Wolverhampton Wanderers (H) 3-1 
36. Bristol City (A) 3-1
37. Ipswich Town (H) 1-0
38. Southampton (A) 0-0
39. Everton (H) 0-0
40. Tottenham (A) 3-1
41. Queens Park Rangers (H) 0-0
42. Bolton Wanderers (A) 1-0